Let the King be Enthralled By Your Beauty

Listen, daughter, and pay careful attention: Forget your people and your father’s house. Let the king be enthralled by your beauty; honor him, for he is your lord. (‭Psalm‬ ‭45‬:‭10-11‬ NIV)

For much longer than I care to admit, I have struggled with my appearance. Proverbs 31:30 can only encourage an insecure girl for so long. We exhaust ourselves with all the self talk that we’re beautiful on the inside, and character is what really matters. But then you get another wedding invitation from another pretty friend (inside and out), and you’re left alone wondering, “is beauty really vain?” After all, if I’m such a wonderful person, why don’t I have it – whatever “it” is?
Psalms 43:11 reminds us that The King of kings and Lord of lords is ENTHRALLED by our beauty! We don’t have to try to fit into some cookie cutter mold that the world thinks we should resemble in order to put a ring on it. We just need to be who He created us to be, and honor him with the bodies and gifts He gave us.
I wish I could say that I am cured of this toxic thinking, but I have to remind myself of this passage everyday. If I want to overcome this way of thinking, I need to be intentional about retraining my brain to think and to see me the way that the King sees me. I need to forget the lies I heard in the past. The King is enthralled by my beauty. And his opinion is the only one that matters!

Leave a Reply

