Psalm 12 & 13 – The Refiner

The words of the LORD are pure words; as silver tried in a furnace on the earth, refined seven times. (Psalm 12:6 NASB)

It is so hard to find honest people. It seems like everyone puts a spin on their stories to boast in themselves; I am just as guilty. Why can’t we be people of our word? God detests a lying tongue, yet we still lie.

May the church rise up, and stand for integrity. May we be people of our word. In so doing, may we attract others to the refiner!

But not only does the refiner have the ability to refine our lips, but he can burn away the chaff of our hearts to allow renewal to take place. Many times in my life’s have identified with the psalmist when he said, “How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?” I wore myself out praying for breakthroughs, and never seeing them. I prevailed in prayer, just to feel like a cloud has sucked up all the sound coming out of my mouth. Has he forgotten me? Is he hiding from my constant begging?

But God wants to bless me more than I could ask or imagine! He uses those times of discouragement to draw me near to him. He has plans to prosper me and not to harm me, plans to give me hope and a future. It’s my job to ask for the desires of my heart (or something better), then trust him to do it!

It’s also important that I don’t continually go to God with a wish list. He is not my genie. He is Almighty God, and I’m to serve him, not the other way around.

How the enemy wants to place doubts in my heart – throwing accusations and insecurity as I’m trying to reach the finish line. When the battle of the mind isn’t working, he throws temptation – old tricks that worked. He doesn’t relent. That’s why I too will not relent. I will put on the full armor of God, and stand firm against the attacks if the enemy. The war is already won – the battle belongs to The Lord. I will sleep in peace knowing that my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ has got me. My heart will rejoice in his salvation. “I will sing to the LORD, because He has dealt bountifully with me.” (Psalm 13:6 NASB)

Leave a Reply

