Psalm 11- God of Righteousness

For the Lord is righteous, He loves righteousness; The upright will behold His face. (Psalm 11:7 NASB)

David must have been so scared, hiding from the king during a new moon (1 Samuel 20). Would he even be able to see Saul’s men if they advanced? Of course, God used that dark sky to protect David from being spotted by them. I wonder if David found encouragement knowing that the new moon could work in HIS favor just as easily as it could Saul’s. how quickly though to we see the hinderance to our situation, and not see that it is equally hindering our enemy. Just like the sun shines and the rain falls on everyone equally, the darkness of night can keep us from being seen by our attackers.

God anointed David as king, and now he’s running from the king? How’s THAT for a plan?! Oh the doubts that must have been plaguing David’s mind! Maybe I’m just having these thoughts on David’s behalf, because they would’ve been mine. God makes me a promise, and situations in life that counter that make me doubt Him. In fact, my trust issues often deceive me to believe that my helper will betray me. But God, YOU are my refuge! Even when I run scared to the mountain where you directed me. It may be far from my Jerusalem, but it’s where I need to go to ensure that I make it to Jerusalem in one piece! You test and love the righteous. May I pass your test with flying colors, so that one day I can behold your face and hear, “well done, good and faithful servant!”

Leave a Reply

