Psalm 8-9 Wonderful Savior

Oh Lord, our Lord, how majestic is Your name in all the Earth!
My first recollection of this song was sung by Sandi Patti. Who has a more majestic voice than Sandi Patti? You do! As I would listen to her sing that psalm, I would imagine that your voice sound similar when you called things into being. Oh the pomp and circumstance that mug have occurred in Heaven during the first week of Earth.
But as glorious as the Heavens and the Earth must have looked that week, Your glory is greater still! Your glory and creativity is so great that I wonder why You even give me a thought. But not only do you think of me, but You also have crowned my with glory!
I love how The Message ends the psalm, “God, brilliant Lord, Your name echoes around the world.”. Every knee will bow and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord! How awesome is that?!
God, as I stare at the stars in the night sky, i wonder how fast are they moving when we see them sparkle. How much more lies beyond this galaxy that only YOU will see. It’s way to take pride in the planet of my birth. That the Texas Bluebonnets are for me, the harvest moon of August is also for my viewing pleasure. But the vast expanse of Outer Space? That is for you, and you alone! Your glory expands distances that I will never see! Yet you entrusted me with some life here. Creation to tend, people to love, dreams to chase, and experiences to treasure. Why? Why to you trust me? I’m so unworthy compared to your measure of expanse!

I will give thanks to the Lord with my whole heart;
I will recount all of your wonderful deeds. (Psalm 9:1 ESV)

I will thank you oh Lord with all of my heart. You are my salvation, my strength during the last set of chest presses. You are my endurance when my lung capacity doesn’t want to run anymore. You carry me through the last mile. You are my peace when I’m tired of waiting out life’s storms. You have filled my heart with an everlasting joy – one that I never knew possible.

I worship you for your unconditional love and for being “I Am!”. When I think of you, I want to sing. Hosanna, You are high and lifted up! This is the day that the Lord has made; I will rejoice and be glad in it.

My enemies don’t stand a chance against you. They may strike me down, but they cannot destroy me, because greater is He that is in me than he that is in the world! The nations may think that they have the last laugh by removing you from their logic and mandating mistreatment toward your followers. But your sovereignty will prevail! Just like past nations have crumbled for abolishing you, so will future nations. You think they’d learn from history!

You are a stronghold for the abused and mistreated. Those who know you, trust in you. You will make them soar high with wings like eagles!! Praise the God of Zion through proclamation of his great deeds. He does not forget the cry of the hurting.

You are good, and your love endures forever! He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the almighty! You are my rock and fortress (Ps 91:1-2a). If I dwell in you, and place my trust in you, you will be my shield against my enemies just like your word says. What can mere humans do to me (Ps. 56:4b)?

IMG_0808.JPG

IMG_0572.JPG

Leave a Reply

