Psalms 6-7 Righteous Redeemer

Return, O LORD, rescue my soul;
Save me because of Your lovingkindness. (Psalm 6:4 NASB)

When I think back on the bondage of my thought life, I stand amazed at how greatly you rescued me. I lost sleep over meaningless paranoias. I cried out “where are You, God” when You were there all along. When I think of how I’ve been my own worst enemy, not trusting in your power to sustain me, I feel so foolish. You even extend a relieving invitation to us: “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11:28 NASB) so many times though I wear myself out trying to will myself to think differently, and beat myself up for not overcoming my weaknesses. But Your grace IS sufficient for me, and I will BOAST in my weakness, because it is then that you unleash your power to make possible the impossible!

Be gracious to me for doubting your willingness to do exceedingly, abundantly more than I could ask or imagine! I believe; help my unbelief. Forgiving me for questioning the sovereignty of the all-knowing God.

When my enemies were great, and my distress was overwhelming, you rescued me. I see that now, though I didn’t at the time. Thank you for a lovingkindness that is greater than my faith. You are the immovable rock in my unsteady world. You ain’t going anywhere! “On Christ the solid rock I stand; all other ground is sinking sand.”

I will give thanks to the Lord according to His righteousness and will sing praise to the name of the Lord Most High. (Psalm 7:17 NASB)

Try my heart and mind for you are the righteous judge. Let my heart not harden to your laws, leading me to my own pit of destruction.

Leave a Reply

