The Infectious Disease of Political Correctness

Political Correctness has seemed to gone off course since it’s revolution in the 1990s. I remember as a student thinking that the ideal was unattainable, but optimal. I consider myself a compassionate person, and was optimistic that people would start to think before speaking. In fact, I would have even argued that Jesus would prefer political correctness when speaking to other individuals. After all, we are all created in the image of God, and it breaks his heart when we tear others down.
Fast forward to the 21st century, and the idea has changed to a politically controlled society. We’re not even allowed to voice our differing opinions if they conflict with the political majority. We are all uniquely created individuals, loved by the Creator of the Universe. We are allowed to think differently than everyone else. We all make mistakes, and we learn from them – hopefully. We love others despite their differences and failures, and point them to the Only One who has the righteousness and mercy to handle them.
However, political correctness has stepped in and commandeered the role of God, causing even more division – among it’s own people – making peace unattainable. The only we chance have at experiencing peace – through the Prince of Prince – has been removed from our speech because of the god of political correctness.
One of my favorite passages of scripture speaks to the need that our country is desperately lacking. I just hope that many of us will wake up and see the truth of it’s message. “And [if] My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land. (‭2 Chronicles‬ ‭7‬:‭14‬ NASB)”
I pray that I have the courage to be one who humbles myself to the pride that separates me from loving others. We don’t need the government to tell us what is acceptable speech – we should have the intelligence to speak to others the way we would want them to speak to us. Oh that our pride would stop getting in the way of fortifying health relationships.

Leave a Reply

