Prevailing Prayer

How many people have a specific person pop into your mind when you hear the phrase prayer warrior?
I think of a woman whom I have never met, but her surviving son gives testimony of her faith while she was on this earth. Philip was a PK as a child. As was typical for many pastor’s families, money was tight. Philip testified to me that the faith of his mother put food on their table. She would pray believing that they would have just enough, and they did. That testimony astounded me so much, that I prayer to have that kind of faith.

God has proven his faithfulness to me time and time again. You’d think that would spur me to “pray without ceasing”, as the Apostle Paul challenged the believers is Thessalonica. For all that God has given me, I have so much more to give back in the area of prayer Free of distractions and daydreaming. Going to him first instead last. Approaching his thrown humbly, instead of with piety and pride.

I am reminded of the prayer of Daniel in chapter 9 of his book. Here is a man who walked so closely with God, yet counted himself among the guilty of Israel who have disobeyed God!
“we have not obeyed the Lord our God or kept the laws he gave us through his servants the prophets.” (‭Daniel‬ ‭9‬:‭10‬ NIV) How many times have I casted blame on others for the disobedience of our country, instead of crying out in repentance for this nation. When I humble myself and pray and turn from my wicked ways, my heart will change, which will produce change in my family, then my church, and then my nation.
If I’m going to be the Proverbs 31 bride of Christ that I’m called to be, I must make a higher priority of praying diligently.

Leave a Reply

