365 Days of Proverbs 31

“A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. Her husband has full confidence in her, and lacks nothing of value. She brings him good, not harm all the days of her life” (Prov. 31:10-12).
While sipping on the nectar of Heaven – my Decaf Grande Cinnamon Dolce Latte- driving home one evening, I listened to a radio sermon on prayer. He provided me with new insight on a delay on answered prayers. God certainly could tell us no. He could even delay a response to teach us patience. The pastor argued that we may not be receiving from God, because we’re not doing what He’s called us to do in that area. Take finances for example, maybe you’re asking for funds for a new car, but the money isn’t coming in. You might tithe, but maybe The Holy Spirit has been prompting you to give to someone in need. You have legitimate excuses, but that refusal could be what’s keeping you from receiving a blessing.
This new insight in delayed responses from Heaven, challenged me to think about what I’ve been prevailing in prayer about. What could God be calling me to do in obedience that I’ve been delaying?
Marriage. I want a husband. And not just ANY husband a Jesus-loving, bible-thumping, ambitious, good-looking, mama’s boy – to name a few. But what have I to offer the one who meets this highly selective profile? Am I that Proverbs 31 woman that Mr. Right is looking for? But I’m not a wife! That chapter isn’t for me! Or is it? Am I the Proverbs 31 woman that GOD wants me to be?
I began hitting the book to begin my research on what such a woman would look like. Last week, I outlined the chapter (including verses 1-9), and mapped out my 8 week study to jump start me on my year’s journey. I wrote my bucket list. Hey! A single girl living a life of diligence not only needs a plan, but needs to have some fun too!
Yesterday, I began my 365 day commitment to being the Proverbs 31 Bride of Christ by putting into practice the lessons I’m learning in this gem of a passage! As I diligently cleaned my kitchen, I reminded myself that it is far more important to work as unto The Lord than for Mr. Right. A ring on my left hand will not magically change my cleaning habits.
Thank you for starting on this journey with me! Follow the tagline Proverbs31 for posts related to this journey. I will try to post my reflections and bucket list completions (tagline BucketList) daily, but let’s be realistic…

2 thoughts on “365 Days of Proverbs 31

  1. As I sat down at my laptop I found this page my daughter had been on before she left What an inspiration and blessing,right when I needed to hear from God. As the days come and go something seems missing. I figured it out with help from my heavenly father and grateful to my beautiful daughter. I want to begin my journey as of now to devote a portion of my days in meditation. Spirtually i need healing and prayer. This is a great start. Praise the Lord…………….

Leave a Reply

